Nomenclature of Territorial Units for Statistics

English Abstract: 

"The current NUTS 2013 classification is valid from 1 January 2015 and lists 98 regions at NUTS 1, 276 regions at NUTS 2 and 1342 regions at NUTS 3 level.
The NUTS classification (Nomenclature of territorial units for statistics) is a hierarchical system for dividing up the economic territory of the EU for the purpose of :
The collection, development and harmonisation of European regional statistics
Socio-economic analyses of the regions
NUTS 1: major socio-economic regions
NUTS 2: basic regions for the application of regional policies
NUTS 3: small regions for specific diagnoses
Regional typologies and local information corresponding to NUTS 3
Framing of EU regional policies.
Regions eligible for support from cohesion policy have been defined at NUTS 2 level.
The Cohesion report has so far mainly been prepared at NUTS 2 level."

Alternative Title: 
European Commission
KOS Types Vocabulary: 
2, rue Mercier, Luxembourg, 2985, Luxembourg